Eva

I was lucky enough to have spent Memorial Day weekend with my lovely friend, Eva. I met Eva in high school, where we were the slowest runners the running club had ever seen. We were cut more from the cloth of leisurely joggers, much to the dismay of our teacher-coaches (if you’re running at a fast pace how are you supposed to keep up a conversation?). Over the course of our walk-runs, I was instantly impressed (/enchanted) by her knowledge of books, music, and movies that spanned the classic and current hits. She cultured me with screenings of Twelve Angry Men and recommendations of Auden poems, and I reciprocated with marathons of Pretty Little Liars and car rides with Ke$ha soundtracks. A few fast facts: Eva binds books, speaks Polish, and is a cookie connoisseur (my recent ginger cookies earned an A on her cookie scale, thank you very much).

I’d been toying with the idea of doing portraits of my friends for a while, and since I leave for Wyoming in a week I’ve been feeling especially sentimental about my friendships. [Note to friends: I’m I’m seeing you this week, you’re one of my subjects!] I have no idea how I ended up surrounded by such lovely people, and if I can share even just a small bit of their magic on this blog I’ll be content.

I thought Eva would be the perfect first subject, and I owe her thanks for letting me thrust my camera in her face throughout the weekend and pester her with questions.

Image

We wrote goals for each others’ summers on miniature post-it notes–here, my goals for Eva are stuck to her glasses.

Image

What’s your favorite food? Cookies or coffee. I love all cookies. Well I say that but–no, you’re right, there are definitely few cookies I’ve met that I didn’t like.

Image

We also took a walk near Weir Farm in Hingham, where we were gorged on by mosquitos and encountered a paddock of cows that we attempted to coax near us with goat noises. FYI: Eva is very good at goat noises.

Image

What’s your biggest fear? Probably getting my hand bit off by a dog. No, I can’t indulge that fear anymore now that I’m dogsitting. Probably getting hit by a train. I was also really scarred by this Lifetime movie where the woman’s put under anesthesia and wakes up pregnant. No, don’t write that down! Failure, I should have just said failure. Having too big a sadness, that’s even better.

Image

What’s your favorite book? Oh my gosh, that one’s really hard! I definitely don’t have a favorite book, I have like a Top 20. But up there are I Capture the Castle and Notes from the Underground.

